Key stage 4 IGCSE

Key stage 4 IGCSE

When students enter Year 10, they embark on a two-year course of study leading to the Cambridge International Examinations International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE). Some subjects are compulsory, while students elect to take some as ‘options’. Students generally take nine subjects.

Compulsory subjects are:

  • English Language
  • Mathematics

and two from four science subjects

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Environmental Management

Option subjects include:

  • Art and Design
  • Business Studies
  • Drama
  • English Literature
  • Economics
  • French Language
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Music
  • Physical Education

All students also study Nigerian Studies, Personal, Social and Health Education and General PE. Exminations take place in May and June of the second year of study and all papers are externally marked by the Cambridge International Examination Syndicate. The IGCSE qualification is considered by many to be the ‘gold standard’ for students of this age. In the UK many of the most famous independent schools now take the IGCSE in preference to the national GCSE qualification.

Students with a strong performance in IGCSE can go on to study A Levels or the International Baccalaureate Diploma in the UK, Europe and the USA. Students from the 2011 cohort went on to study in a wide range of schools:

  • Seven Oaks, UK
  • Roedean School, UK
  • Millfield School, UK
  • United World College, UK
  • United World College, Italy
  • Toronto International School, Canada
  • St Andrew’s, Kenya
  • International School of Geneva, Switzerland